St. Anna scientist honored twice

Univ.Prof. DDr. Thomas Lion, MSc., Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ruth Ladenstein and A.Univ.-Prof. Dr. Daniela Karall, IBCLC Credit: Tobias Zimmermann

(Salzburg, 02.10.21) ÖGKJ honors and awards Prof. Ruth Ladenstein, MD: The pediatric cancer researcher and physician receives not only the Clemens von Pirquet Award but also a prize for the best oncological publication.

Every year, the Austrian Society for Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine (ÖGKJ) honors its members for outstanding scientific work with scientific awards and prizes.

Clemens von Pirquet Prize for the best impact factor

On the occasion of the 59th ÖGKJ Annual Meeting, Prof. Ladenstein, MD, MBA, cPM, Head of the Clinical Trials Unit S2IRP at St. Anna Children's Cancer Research Institute, was awarded the prestigious Clemens von Pirquet Award, since her publications (papers as first, last and/or corresponding author) within the last three years have received the most citations in total.

Prize for the best oncological paper

Furthermore, Ruth Ladenstein receives the prize for the best oncological paper. The study shows that the complete surgical removal of certain nerve tumors, so-called high-risk neuroblastomas, in a multimodal treatment approach, improves patient survival. This was the result of a study conducted by Ruth Ladenstein in collaboration with colleagues worldwide. The work was published in the Journal of Clinical Oncology (Holmes K et al. J Clin Oncol 2020).


Influence of Surgical Excision on the Survival of Patients With Stage 4 High-Risk Neuroblastoma: A Report From the HR-NBL1/SIOPEN Study."

Keith Holmes, ChM, DCH*; Ulrike Pötschger, MSc*; Andrew D. J. Pearson, MD; Sabine Sarnacki, MD; Giovanni Cecchetto, MD; Javier Gomez-Chacon, MD; Roly Squire, MBBS; Enrique Freud, MD; Adam Bysiek, PhD; Lucas E. Matthyssens, MD; Martin Metzelder, MD, PhD; Tom Monclair, MD, PhD; Jakob Stenman, MD, PhD; Michal Rygl, PhD; Lars Rasmussen, MD; Jean-Marc Joseph, MD, PhD; Sabine Irtan, MD, PhD Stefano Avanzini, MD; Jan Godzinski, MD, PhD; Kristin Bjornland, PhD; Martin Elliott, MBChB, PhD; Roberto Luksch, MD; Victoria Castel, MD, PhD; Shifra Ash, MD; Walentyna Balwierz, MD, PhD; Genevieve Laureys, PhD, MD; Ellen Ruud, PhD; Vassilios Papadakis, MD, PhD; Josef Malis, MD; Cormac Owens, MBBS; Henrik Schroeder, MD, DrMedSci; Maja Beck-Popovic, MD; Toby Trahair, MBBS, PhD; Ana Forjaz de Lacerda, MD, MSc; Peter F. Ambros, PhD; Mark N. Gaze, MD; Kieran McHugh, MB, BCh; Dominique Valteau-Couanet, MD, PhD; and Ruth Lydia Ladenstein, MD, PhD for the International Society of Paediatric Oncology Europe Neuroblastoma Group (SIOPEN). Journal of Clinical Oncology, July 8, 2020.

(*, K.H. and U.P. shared first authorship).